VfB Friedrichshafen

Founded in 1909, VfB Friedrichshafen have competed in the volleyball Bundesliga since 1987. VfB Friedrichshafen won their first top-tier title in 1998 - followed by 12 others, including 7 consecutively from 2005 to 2011. The team from the Northern Alps have also won the German Cup 13 times, first in 1998 and most recently in the 2014/2015 season.

Arguably, the best achievement of the club is winning the volleyball Champions League in the 2006/2007 season - becoming the only German team to ever win the competition. During that year, Friedrichshafen won a treble, taking the titles of the Champions League, the German League and the German Cup. The club have appeared 4 times in the Champions League Final Four – when they won it in 2007, in 2005, 2000 and 1999.

Friedrichshafen enter the London Legacy Cup as current German Champions and while the majority of their players from last season have left the team during the summer, they will still be competing in the 2016 CEV Champions League.


Current Players

Setters: Simon Tischer; Tomas Kocian

Opposites: Adrian Gontariu

Outside Hitters: Baptiste Geiler; Michal Finger

Middle-blockers: Marc-Anthony Honore; Maximiliano Gauna; Aleksey Nalobin; Jakob Günthör

Liberos: Luke Perry

Coach: Stelian Moculescu

Club Information

Country: Germany

City/Town: Friedrichshafen

Venue: ZF-Arena Friedrichshafen

Honours: CEV Champions League Winners 2007, German National League Winners 2015, German Cup Winners 2015

Website: www.vfb-volleyball.de

Players to Watch

Having lifted 8 national league titles from various different countries during his career, 31 year old Adrian Gontariu is considered one of the star players for VfB Friedrichshafen.